The Map of Stars by Laura Ruby

Rating: 2/5

I really enjoyed the first book in this trilogy, The Shadow Cipher, but each subsequent book has been more disappointing. The Map of Stars was thoroughly dissatisfying from beginning to end, but especially end.

Warning: Spoilers will abound since I can’t really avoid talking about them–they’re basically why I don’t like the book.

To start, I really don’t understand the title choices for these books. I didn’t understand The Clockwork Ghost, and I really don’t understand why this book is called The Map of Stars when there’s no map or stars unless my brain erased the memory of it from pure dissatisfaction. Anyway, on to the plot (and there will be spoilers): after the earthshattering (and disgruntling) revelation at the end of the second book that Tess and Theo are the actual Morningstarr twins through time travel (or, as we learn in this book, alternate universe hopping…?), this book deals with the aftermath of the situation and why the Morningstarrs chose to Change the World (which is of course Global Environmental Disaster with some random handwaving about how weather works, with an unrealistic premise and a lot of “if you don’t follow my ideology you’re a monstrous, evil person” pronouncements).

Why am I dissatisfied with this entire plot? Well, first because it allows for a lot of annoying authorial ideological inserts. Second, Ruby replaces authentic plot explanation with a lot of philosophical comments that sound great but offer little in the way of actual satisfaction with the events of the novel. For example, little is explained about what has been happening throughout the book, and I was angry—yes, actually angry—with the abrupt ending and Jaime’s rash and frustrating decision. There are so many unanswered questions that Ruby doesn’t even try to answer, and instead replaces answers with awkward and clunky action scenes and villains that appear out of nowhere and pretend that they have been villainous the whole time when this is the first time they’ve even been brought up. There’s no resolution to anything—why does Ava look like Jaime’s mother? (Actually, that one might have been explained, now that I think about it, but I hate that whole plot reveal was literally just there to remind the readers that Jaime’s mother was Important In Some Way, and to fuel his decision at the end). What was up with that locket? Why is parallel universe hopping the only decision to make at the end? What happens to Tess and Theo in the actual world they are in?

Anyway, I guess I never got over the fact that an interesting puzzle hunt turned into ideological inserts and random plot revelations that aren’t fully explained.

Info: Sequel to The Clockwork Ghost; Laura Ruby; published 2020 by Walden Pond Press

Genre: Middle Grade, Science Fiction

Warnings: None.

Recommended Age Range: 8+

2 thoughts on “The Map of Stars by Laura Ruby

  1. I liked The Shadow Cipher although I seem to recall I listened to it on CD which sometimes causes one to miss things. However, after reading your review I realize I must have missed the second book in the series! The things you found annoying would certainly irritate me; in fact, I am irked and I haven’t even read it yet.

    What about Bone Gap? Did you like that? I went back and forth – I don’t like magical realism but I did like the characters.

    • For me, Bone Gap was a bit too strange…I spent way too much time wondering if it was supposed to be fantasy or not. The story itself was interesting, and Ruby does a good job with Finn’s lack of ability to recognize faces, and how that lets him see people in different ways. I didn’t like the magical realism aspect of it either.

Leave a comment