Newbery Medal Winners

1922: The Story of Mankind by Hendrik Willem van Loon

1923: The Voyages of Doctor Doolittle by Hugh Lofting

1924: The Dark Frigate by Charles Boardman Hawes

1925: Tales from Silver Lands by Charles J. Finger

1926: Shen of the Sea by Arthur Bowie Crisman

1927: Smoky the Cowhorse by Will James

1928: Gay-Neck: The Story of a Pigeon by Dhan Gopal Mukerji

1929: The Trumpeter of Krakow by Eric P. Kelly

1930: Hitty, Her First Hundred Years by Rachel Field

1931: The Cat Who Went to Heaven by Elizabeth Coatsworth

1932: Waterless Mountain by Laura Adams Armer

1933: Young Fu of the Upper Yangtze by Elizabeth Foreman Lewis

1934: Invincible Louisa by Cornelia Meigs

1935: Dobry by Monica Shannon

1936: Caddie Woodlawn by Carol Ryrie Brinke

1937: Roller Skates by Ruth Sawyer

1943: Adam of the Road by Elizabeth Janet Gray

1944: Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes

1946: Strawberry Girl by Lois Lenski

1948: The Twenty-One Balloons by William Pène du Bois

1950: The Door in the Wall by Marguerite de Angeli

1956: Carry On, Mr. Bowditch by Jean Lee Latham

1957: Miracles on Maple Hill by Virginia Sorensen

1958: Rifles for Watie by Harold Keith

1959: The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare

1968: From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E. L. Konigsburg

1969: The High King by Lloyd Alexander

1976: The Grey King by Susan Cooper

1981: Jacob Have I Loved by Katherine Paterson

1985: The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley

1990: Number the Stars by Lois Lowry

1997: The View from Saturday by E. L. Konigsburg

1998: Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse

2002: A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park

2003: Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi

2005: Kira-Kira by Cynthia Kadohata

2006: Criss Cross by Lynne Rae Perkins

2011: Moon over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool

2013: The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate