When Love Arrives by Johnnie Alexander

Disclaimer: When Love Arrives, by Johnnie Alexander, was provided by Revell in exchange for an honest review.

Dani Prescott can’t believe the lie Brett Somers is trying to sell to the media. During an interview about the plane crash that killed his parents, he blamed Dani’s mother. But the crash killed her as well. Vowing to restore her mother’s reputation, Dani has been following Brett and taking photos, hoping to find something she can use to discredit him. But when she catches his eye instead, she quickly finds herself agreeing to a date. Brett knows this mystery girl is hiding something—but he’s got his own secrets to keep. What will happen when he discovers who she really is?

My rating: 3/5

When reading Where She Belongs, the novel before this one, Brett was the most interesting character to me. I expressed interest in reading the next book if it was about him. And, yes, When Love Arrives focuses on Brett and I enjoyed it much more than I did Where She Belongs.

I think what I most enjoyed is Brett’s redemption story. I love redemption stories—stories where a character messes up, or made bad decisions in his or her lives, etc., and then changes due to something that happened to them or an encounter with someone (or Someone). Brett fits that, and he spends a lot of the novel commiserating over his past mistakes. And I love what Alexander did with his character and the choices she had him make, such as apologizing to his first female “conquest” and to his last.

Dani was an okay protagonist; probably the main problem I had with her was that her arc wasn’t as interesting as Brett’s. I did think Alexander handled her confusion well, and at least she and Brett didn’t have a love at first sight moment. I’ll buy a “love in the first week” plot, but I’m still my same jaded self when it comes to love at first sight.

Another highlight of the novel was Brett’s reaction to Dani’s secret, which I thought was very well done and exactly the way someone like Brett would have reacted.

The only reason I’m not rating this book higher is that, despite all the good parts, there were areas where the novel dragged a little, and the romance seemed a little cheesy in parts. Or maybe it’s just not the sort of romance I like—I do tend to prefer 1800s romance to contemporary romance. But I will say this: Where She Belongs made me want to read the next book about Brett, and now When Love Arrives made me want to read the next book about Amy, so that’s a plus for Alexander no matter what I thought about the book.

Warnings: Brett was a womanizer, so there’s that.

Genre: Realistic, Christian

You can buy this here: http://amzn.to/2dwCmtc

Leave a Reply

