Always Watching by Lynette Eason

Disclaimer: Always Watching, by Lynette Eason, was provided by Revell in exchange for an honest review.

When it becomes clear that popular psychiatrist and radio personality Wade Savage has a stalker, his father secretly hires Elite Guardian to protect his son. But when Wade’s bodyguard is attacked and nearly killed, agency owner Olive Edwards must step in and fill the gap. Olivia’s skills are about to be tested to the limit as Wade’s stalker moves from leaving innocent gifts at his door to threatening those closest to him—including Olivia. But in her mind, even more dangerous than the threats to her life is the hold her handsome client has on her heart.

For the first half of Always Watching, I bemoaned the use of incomplete sentences for descriptive purposes and wondered how in the world someone who got their throat cut and then was not immediately found afterwards survived. It sounds like something easily explained away (such as “Oh, the attacker just missed the jugular”) but it really bothered me for about half the book until I stopped caring. I mean, if the attacker has murdered before, why would s/he be so sloppy as to not cut someone’s throat deep enough to kill? And even if the wound wasn’t enough to kill initially, surely Maddy would have bled out before she was found, since at least a half-hour passed which I think would be enough time to bleed out, especially with a cut throat (but I’m no medical expert). So, yes, that nagged at me until, like I said, I stopped caring about everything that was happening.

For the second half of the book, I mostly thought about how unnecessary the romance was. I’ve read some books with unnecessary romances, but this one more so than others. The romance feels distinctly out of place in such a dark, suspenseful novel and maybe if it was something beyond the usual banal brand of romance it would have fit better. But it felt tacked on, and was so unoriginal and boring that I almost stopped reading the book.

Also, when it came time for the stalker reveal, I actually had to go back and flip through the book again because I honestly could not remember who in the world the person was. I literally said out loud, “Um, who?” Then I started flipping through the book, but I stopped because I realized that I didn’t care.

Always Watching is suspenseful in places, but the writing style irritated me, the romance was completely unnecessary and boring, and at several of the most “tense” moments, I found myself thinking, “Really? I don’t buy that.” I’m glad that I finished the book, if only because I can say that I gritted my teeth and got through it, but ultimately I wish it had simply been a better book.

My rating: 1/5

Warnings: Violence, death.

Genre: Realistic, Christian

You can buy this here: Always Watching

Leave a Reply

