Review Copy: Every Girl Gets Confused by Janice Thompson

Disclaimer: Every Girl Gets Confused, by Janice Thompson, was provided by Revell in exchange for an honest review.

51jhfwwzukl-_sy344_bo1204203200_Katie Fisher and Brady James may be a match made in heaven, but that doesn’t seem to guarantee them a happily ever after accompanied by angelic choirs. Katie’s almost-fiancé Casey is back in Fairfield, ready to rekindle their relationship. And there’s nothing Katie’s parents want more than for their small-town girl to leave Dallas and come home for good. But can she really leave Brady behind? And will she ever be able to wear that gorgeous wedding dress she won?

I didn’t love Every Bride Needs a Groom, but I did decide to give the sequel a try. Unfortunately, I liked Every Girl Gets Confused even less. The main problem with this book is that it has no depth to it. The title isn’t even really all that accurate, since Katie never thinks about getting back together with Casey nor do she and Brady have any major problems. The book is funny, sure, and I guess sweet, but I fail to see any underlying purpose to this book besides “let’s describe more small-town shenanigans and denominational rivalry and occasionally throw in some conversations about God and prayer.”

I also didn’t see the point for the chapter epigraphs. None of the quotes connected to what happened in the chapters, and the whole Doris Day theme didn’t fit with the book. I had absolutely no clue why Doris Day was being quoted, and the attempt to make it cohesive with the random dress shop customer who likes Doris Day didn’t make it any clearer.

Every Girl Gets Confused really wasn’t my type of book at all. I like comedy and I like romance, but I didn’t like this. Katie is too limpid of a character, the book doesn’t flow smoothly from shenanigan to romance to serious moment, and too many things were disjointed for me to be anything but glad when the book was over. This Texas-style book was just not my cup of tea.

My rating: 1/5

Warnings: None.

Genre: Realistic, Christian

You can buy this here: Every Girl Gets Confused

Leave a Reply

