Monday Double Feature: Vendetta by Lisa Harris

Disclaimer: Vendetta, by Lisa Harris, was provided by Revell in exchange for an honest review.

No one needs to push Nikki Boyd to excel on the Tennessee Missing Persons Task Force. The case of her own missing sister, still unsolved after ten years, is the driving force in her work. When a Polaroid photo of a missing girl shows up at a crime scene, Nikki quickly recognizes similarities to the past. The closer she gets to the abductor, the more she feels this case has become personal, and she is not the hunter…but the hunted.

(This was actually supposed to go up in October. Oops. Better late than never, eh?)

Vendetta gave me a Criminal Minds-ish feel, which I liked (as much as one can like Criminal Minds, based on its disturbing content) and the suspense was done fairly well, for the most part. It’s not wholly a mystery but it’s not wholly a suspense novel, either. I’ve read better suspense, but for the most part Vendetta is pretty decent in terms of that aspect.

I did think that Nikki was pretty flat and unappealing as a character. The problem is that she’s too one-note, too bland to really stand out. She doesn’t do enough to distinguish herself as a character worthy of a series. I thought the future romance between her and Tyler was appallingly obvious from the first moment we see them together, what with Harris’s penchant to dwell a lot on things like hugs and how Nikki feels when she’s around Tyler. It’s so obvious I found it a little off-putting, actually.

I enjoyed Vendetta up until the last third, and then I stopped enjoying it. All the tension and the suspense fell flat for me at the end, and I was left feeling that the plot was a little contrived. I didn’t buy the hostage situation in the woods and I thought every scene during and after that was too obviously trying to generate tension and it felt fake as a result. I also thought the villain had some pretty cliché monologues, as well.

Vendetta does some things decently, but I mostly found that Nikki is flat and boring as a character, the tension starts out nicely but then becomes contrived, and the novel simply falls apart in technique and in quality of enjoyment at the end. Not a favorite of mine.

My rating: 2/5

Warnings: None.

Genre: Realistic, Mystery, Christian

You can buy this here: Vendetta

Leave a Reply

