Review Copy: The Mistress of Tall Acre by Laura Frantz

Disclaimer: The Mistress of Tall Acre, by Laura Frantz, was provided by Revell in exchange for an honest review.

The American Revolution is finally over, and Sophie Menzies is starved for good news. When her nearest neighbor, General Seamus Ogilvy, finally comes home to Tall Acre, she hopes it is a sign of better days to come. But the general is now a widower with a small daughter in desperate need of a mother. Nearly destitute, Sophie agrees to marry Seamus and become the mistress of Tall Acre in what seems a safe, sensible arrangement. But when a woman from the general’s past returns without warning, the ties that bind this fledgling family together will be strained to the utmost. When all is said and done, who will be the rightful mistress of Tall Acre?

The Mistress of Tall Acre is a historical romance that hit all the right notes for me: enough tension to create conflict, but not enough to seem overly contrived; a slow-burning romance with characters who are less prone to outbursts and who dwell on their feelings more quietly; a historical setting that feels well-researched and comes to life on the page; and good writing to tie it all together.

I absolutely devoured The Mistress of Tall Acre and the only reason I didn’t finish it in one setting was because I had made plans and they interrupted my reading. The snatches I read in between activities were delightful and kept me wanting more. It didn’t end cheesily, as many books of its ilk do, and as I said, it’s not nearly as contrived as some historical romances can get. The tension comes naturally, for the most part, and I adored Sophie, her personality and character type, and her growing relationship with Seamus.

The Mistress of Tall Acre is a book I will think fondly of for quite a while, I think. The Christian aspect of it was integrated smoothly into the story and was neither preachy nor sparse, and as I mentioned, I adored the romance and the setting. A good book for those who enjoy tasteful historical romance, as I do!

My rating: 4/5

Warnings: None.

Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian

You can buy this here: The Mistress of Tall Acre: A Novel

Leave a Reply

