The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

The Dream Thieves, by Maggie Stiefvater, was published in 2013 by Scholastic. It is the sequel to The Raven Boy.

Spoilers for The Raven Boys.

Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself. One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams. And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things. Ronan is one of the raven boys—a group of friends, practically brothers, searching for a dead king named Glendower, who they think is hidden somewhere in the hills by their elite private school, Aglionby Academy. The path to Glendower has long lived as an undercurrent beneath town. But now, like Ronan’s secrets, it is beginning to rise to the surface—changing everything in its wake.

I did not like The Dream Thieves as much as I liked The Raven Boys, although I’m far from disliking it. I really appreciate the strong male friendship that is portrayed in the book (and the series), since I feel a lot of YA is lacking that, and I also appreciate how despite the urban fantasy/paranormal aspect of it, those parts of it are nicely woven into the world and don’t seem so weird that it’s off-putting (although the part at the end with the battle above the cars almost reached that point, in my opinion).

The strongest aspect of this series, in my opinion, is the dialogue and the relationships between the characters. When there’s no dialogue, Stiefvater’s writing continuously distracts me. I feel like it’s over-written and trying a little too hard to be memorable/pretty/whatever. A lot of people love her writing, but I struggled to get through the descriptive parts to reach the more powerful dialogue, and in some parts I actually skimmed because I couldn’t take it. But the dialogue is on point, and continuously funny and very well done all around.

As for the relationships, I absolutely love Gansey’s and Blue’s, since I mentioned in my review of the first book that I loved how Stiefvater did not immediately throw them together. And they’re still not together, either, although the ending is pointing strongly in that direction.

As for plot, I don’t really have much to say about it. I thought it was mostly filler, and the whole book was mainly just character development for Ronan. There was not really any plot development, which was a little upsetting.

Rating: 3/5

Recommended Age Range: 16+

Warnings: Swearing, psychics, violence.

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult

In the corner of the room, there was a sound. Not the corner where Chainsaw’s cage was. And not a sound like a young raven. It was a long, slow scrape on the wood floor. Then a rapid sound like a drinking straw in bicycle spokes. Tck-tck-tck-tck-tck.

It was a sound Ronan had heard before.

He swallowed.

He opened his eyes. Noah’s eyes were already wide.

Noah said, “What were you dreaming about?”

Overall Review:

The Dream Thieves did not have much in the way of plot development and was mostly filler, but I love the relationships between the characters and the strong dialogue. The rest of the book still feels overwritten, and I ended up skimming some of the more description-heavy portions because of it, but overall I am still impressed with these books and Stiefvater in general.

You can buy this here: The Dream Thieves

3 thoughts on “The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Pingback: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater | Leaf's Reviews

  2. Pingback: The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater | Leaf's Reviews

  3. Pingback: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater | Leaf's Reviews

Leave a Reply

