Review Copy: Trial Run

Disclaimer: Trial Run by Thomas Locke was provided by Revell in exchange for an honest review.

Dr. Gabriella Speciale has assembled an international team of elite scientists with one goal in mind—to create and control out-of-body experiences that transcend the limits of time and space. Reese Clawson’s mind-bending experiments aim to explore the boundaries of human consciousness—and annihilate the opposition in the process. When a terrifying discovery and a string of failed tests threaten to dismantle both programs, the key to survival may reside in the mind of a gifted grad student whose unsettling dreams have thrust him into the center of a dangerous battle for control. As the threads of perception and reality become tangled and time itself twists in unexpected directions, one warning remains clear; what you don’t know can kill you.

I have to admit, I couldn’t actually finish Trial Run. I read roughly half of it and then flipped through the rest. I found the novel terribly obtuse and confusing, and when halfway through I still had no idea what was going on I had to stop. I feel as if this book could only be enjoyed by a specific audience, one who either doesn’t care about what isn’t explained or one who understands all the terminology that’s thrown around like confetti.

For my part, I couldn’t understand why Locke could devote two pages describing one character’s gym routine and have only two sentences or paragraphs per chapter explaining ascents, the plot, and what all of it means. A lot of the pleasure I get from novels is knowing how stuff works, and that was completely lacking for me in Trial Run.

In addition, Locke throws way too many characters at you at once in the beginning. I kept getting them confused with each other. He also has unimportant and unnecessary romance for a few of the characters. And for the amount of research he must have done for this book, I wish he had done a tad more on some of the backgrounds of his characters: there is no way Shane made a college gymnastics team if she hadn’t trained in four years. I could barely do a cartwheel without overly stretching my muscles after stopping gymnastics for two months.

So, yes, Trial Run was a complete miss for me. I didn’t understand it, none of the characters appealed to me, I found the romance annoying and unnecessary, and what Locke chose to describe or not to describe drove me a little crazy. There was no depth or importance to the novel that I found at all.

My rating: 1/5

Warnings: None.

Genre: Realistic

You can buy this here: Trial Run

Leave a Reply

