Fairy Tale Friday: Princess In Disguise

Princess in Disguise is written by E. D. Baker. It was published in 2015 by Bloomsbury. It is the sequel to The Bravest Princess.

Summary/Blurb:

After helping Sleeping Beauty and Snow White break the curses that plagued them, Princess Annie is finally ready to live happily ever after with Prince Liam. She’s planned the perfect day for a celebration, but then everything starts to go wrong! A huge storm floods the castle. Then, guests fall mysteriously ill and a dangerous fog appears, trapping everyone. Someone with a lot of magic is causing trouble. The one person who can help is the fairy Moonbeam, and Annie’s immunity to magic makes her the only person able to reach her. With Liam in tow, Annie embarks on a wild adventure beyond the castle walls. Along the way, she’ll run into some familiar friends…and some dangerous new foes. Will Annie be able to reach Moonbeam in time to turn everything around?

Yawn.

E. D. Baker has a penchant for writing really good books, then writing sequels that get progressively more boring. And her stand-alone novel, A Question of Magic, is also a tedious read. I’ve been trying to figure out why this is.

I think part of it is due to her writing style. Princess in Disguise is very tell-heavy, with lots of similar structured sentences that make for a sort of monotone as you read them. A lot of the dialogue was about Annie and Liam discussing what they were seeing or telling each other what they were going to do, which make everything seem a little mechanical. I think the main thing that bothered me is that Baker’s writing is just average. And nothing in her writing or the plot inspired me to care about the book.

My opinion of Baker has really gone down since I first started reading her books. It’s a little sad, to be honest, and it’s tainted my view of the first two books in this series.

Rating: 1/5

Recommended Age Range: 12+

Warnings: None.

Genre: Fantasy, Fairy Tale, Middle Grade

Passages/Quotes:

“Have you come to gloat?” he asked.

“I came to offer you a ride. It’s daylight now and I’m surprised the farmer hasn’t seen us yet.”

“I suppose we could ride together,” Liam said, eyeing the gelding.

“I think he could handle that just fine,” Annie said, reaching out to give Liam a hand up. “I have no idea what his name is, but I’m going to call him Otis.”

Overall Review:

Princess of Disguise is an unfortunately boring book, with almost nothing to recommend it except that it’s part of the halfway-decent Wide-Awake Princess series (a series in which my opinion has degraded the more books I’ve read in it). I don’t think I can read Baker anymore, simply because I haven’t found any of her books pleasant to read recently. Not because they were necessarily bad, but because they were just so boring and flat.

You can buy this here: Princess in Disguise: A Tale of the Wide-Awake Princess

One thought on “Fairy Tale Friday: Princess In Disguise

  1. Pingback: Princess between Worlds by E. D. Baker | Leaf's Reviews

Leave a Reply

