Fairy Tale Friday: Cress

Cress is written by Marissa Meyer. It was published in 2013 by Feiwel and Friends. It is the sequel to Scarlet.

Summary/Blurb:

Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

What I Liked:

I absolutely loved Meyer’s adaptation of Rapunzel, especially the changing of Rapunzel’s tears to eyedrops. Speaking of Rapunzel, Cress is exactly the sort of character I love and she’s paired with exactly the sort of character I love characters like Cress being paired with, the loveable, capable rogue. So cute. I loved Cress’s timidity and overall shyness, yet deep inner ferocity that allows her to be incredibly collected when she does things she knows how to do, such as hacking. And I love it, did I mention that?

I mentioned in my review of Scarlet that Cinder did a few things that annoyed me. She does a few annoying things, here, too, and then Dr. Erland basically says, “Wow, that’s the stupidest plan I’ve ever heard” and then Cinder suddenly gets awesome and accomplishes things. Also, Dr. Erland + Cinder = a wonderful, wonderful snarkfest.

I loved the glimpse of the fairytale character (Snow White, but not named that) that we’ll be meeting in the final book and will presumably be joining forces with Cinder & Co. We also met her love interest, whose Plot Reveal actually surprised me, but made so much sense after the fact. I’m just sad that I have to wait almost a year until the final book comes out…

I found it hard to put the book down towards the end, when all the different plot points were about to converge and Cinder & Co. were planning, Mission: Impossible-style, their infiltration of the palace.

Rating: 5/5

Recommended Age Range: 14+

Warnings: Violence, death.

Genre: Science Fiction, Fairy Tale, Young Adult

Passages/Quotes:

This time, she took in an extra deep breath and shut her eyes and grappled for a daydream, any daydream…

“I am an explorer,” she whispered, “setting courageously off into the wild unknown.” It was not a daydream she’d ever had before, but she felt the familiar comfort of her imagination wrapping around her. She was an archaeologist, a scientist, a treasure hunter. She was a master of land and sea. “My life is an adventure,” she said, growing confident as she opened her eyes again. “I will not be shackled to this satellite anymore.”

Thorne tilted his head to one side. He waited for three heartbeats before sliding one hand down into hers. “I have no idea what you’re talking about,” he said. “But we’ll go with it.”

~Meyer 140

Overall Review:

Cress is my favorite book in the Lunar Chronicles so far, since it has my favorite character type, my favorite romantic pairing being adorably cute, Cinder accomplishing things while snarking about it, and actual progress being made by the heroes. I am continuing to love Meyer’s science-fiction and fairy-tale mash-up, and am super excited for Winter next year (and I guess the side story about Levana, Fairest, coming in January).

You can buy this here: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles)

One thought on “Fairy Tale Friday: Cress

  1. Pingback: Winter by Marissa Meyer | Leaf's Reviews

Leave a Reply

