Series Week VI: Wrap-Up Of The Chronicles of Chrestomanci

Series Rating: 4/5

Diana Wynne Jones has created a wonderful world (technically worlds) in the Chronicles of Chrestomanci, and she utilizes it in different, fresh ways for each book that just give the whole series such great charm. I have yet to meet a fantasy author like Jones, with her ability to create complex plots, unique magic, and interesting worlds in each book she writes. She can also be hysterically funny if she so chooses.

Besides worldbuilding, plots, and magic, Jones also has the knack for making remarkable, memorable characters. As much as I don’t like it, Witch Week has quite a cast of characters, and they don’t blend together; they all stand out as separate and unique, which sometimes can be quite a feat with “ensemble” characters.

Charmed Life, next to Howl’s Moving Castle, is THE Jones book for me. The rest of the series is good, but Charmed Life was, I believe, the first Jones book I read and it is near and dear to my heart because it introduced me to the world, and to Jones, and to many other books that I love, all of which I will most likely review on this blog eventually because I enjoy them so much.

Here are the books, ordered from my favorite to my least favorite:

1.)    Charmed Life

2.)    Conrad’s Fate

3.)    The Magicians of Caprona

4.)    The Pinhoe Egg

5.)    The Lives of Christopher Chant

6.)    Witch Week

I’ll be back to my regular schedule with Heir Apparent by Vivian Vande Velde tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

