The Reckoning: Excuse Me While I Die From Cuteness Overload

The Reckoning is written by Kelley Armstrong. It was published in 2010 by Harper. It is the third and last book in the Darkest Powers trilogy. My reviews of the first two can be found here and here, respectively. Armstrong’s website can be found here.

Spoilers for all three books.

Genre: Supernatural, Realistic, Young Adult

Summary/Blurb:

“My name is Chloe Saunders. I am fifteen, and I would love to be normal.

But normal is one thing I’m not.

For one thing, I’m having these feelings for a certain antisocial werewolf and his sweet-tempered brother—who just happens to be a sorcerer—but, between you and me, I’m leaning toward the werewolf.

Not normal.

My friends and I are also on the run from an evil corporation that wants to get rid of us—permanently.

Definitely not normal.

And finally, I’m a genetically altered necromancer who can raise the dead, rotting corpses and all, without even trying.

As far away from normal as it gets.

~Inside Flap

Passages/Quotes:

 The ground under us shook. Tori shrieked. Margaret gasped. My eyes flew open. The earth quavered and groaned and then, with an earsplitting crack, ripped open right in front of us.

Tori grabbed my arm and yanked me to my feet. We backpedaled as the ground yawned open with a thundering roar, dirt spilling into the crevasse and flying up, the musty stink of it billowing out.

The chasm split wider and deeper, an avalanche of dirt rushing in from all sides, tombstones swaying and rumbling. One toppled in, and still the earth split, until the top of a coffin appeared, shaking and rattling.

“Oh no,” Tori said. “No, no, no.”

~Armstrong 92

“Looking for someone, little necro?”

I jumped, losing my balance. Simon and Derek both grabbed for me, Derek catching me with one hand while awkwardly dropping the amulet ribbon over my head. I pulled it down and looked around.

“Royce,” I said. “Can I see you? Please?”

He chuckled and appeared partway, like he had before. “Liked what you saw, huh?”

They say you can’t fake a blush, but I sure tried. That was the way to deal with this jerk. Flattery, as painful as it was.

~Armstrong 208

Cover Art

Warnings: Violence, some gruesome descriptions

Recommended Age Range: 14+

Rating: 5/5

What I Liked:

Wow, what a great series. It was lots of fun to read and there were lots of lovely Chloe/Derek (called it) moments. And Armstrong has definitely left it open for expansion; in fact, she has another trilogy (first book is out) in the same universe, with different characters. I might check those out since I liked this series a lot.

Oh man, Chloe! With the dead rabbit and dog and Liam! And Mrs. Enright and Dr. Davidoff! You go, girl. Way to show off all that wonderful character development.

Awwwww….

Ok, good, Rae didn’t completely fulfill my expectations of her character. Glad you turned that around a little, Armstrong. Tori, on the other hand, was still pretty typical.

Chloe and Derek! CHLOE AND DEREK. So, so cute. So cute.

What I Didn’t Like:

Wait…what’s up with her necklace? Why is it important that it changed color? What was Margaret talking about? Will we never know? Or did we find out and I just missed it?

Overall Review:

The Reckoning is a great finish to a great series. I had a lot of fun reading these books. Chloe and Derek will melt your heart with their cuteness. Armstrong left a few things open for future expansion, but otherwise, the series wraps up pretty neatly.

Coming Up Next: Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken

Leave a Reply

