Series Week I: Wrap-Up of Little House

Series Rating: 5/5

And so the first ever Series Week draws to a close!

First of all, I have to say that I appreciate Wilder’s writing style a lot more than I did when I was little. I found that it very skillfully wrapped up the reader into the storyline and it matured with the characters. The difference between Big Woods and Golden Years is quite noticeable. Wilder became more experienced with writing and used that experience to improve the series. Usually when I read a series, I’ve noticed that it takes a downward plunge; the first book is usually the best. However, the opposite is true in this case. Little House is an upward slope, each book significantly better than the last. That’s what I love about the series. Each book just gets better and better.

As I promised, here is how I rank the books, from most favorite to least:

1.) Little Town on the Prairie

2.) These Happy Golden Years

3.) Farmer Boy

4.) The Long Winter

5.) By the Shores of Silver Lake

6.) On the Banks of Plum Creek

7.) Little House in the Big Woods

8.) Little House on the Prairie

Little Town and Golden Years are very close, but Little Town wins out because almost all of my favorite scenes are in it.

I hope all of you enjoyed my reviews of the Little House books; I know I enjoyed reading and writing about them! I’m returning to my regular schedule (Tuesdays and Fridays) starting on Tuesday with The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley. See you then!

2 thoughts on “Series Week I: Wrap-Up of Little House

  1. Pingback: The Promise of Dawn by Lauraine Snelling | Leaf's Reviews

  2. Pingback: 1936 Newbery Medal: Caddie Woodlawn by Carol Ryrie Brink | Leaf's Reviews

Leave a Reply

